Links to Nanoquanta web sites

Nanoscale Quantum Simulations for Nanostructures and Advanced Materials

Nanoquanta is a Network of Excellence performing fundamental Physics research funded by the European Commission's Sixth Framework Programme.

The Network performs research within the Third Thematic Priority of the Integrating and Strengthening the European Research Area activity of the Sixth Framework Programme: nanotechnologies and nanosciences, knowledge-based multifunctional materials and new production processes and devices, known as "NMP".

The Network is intended to operate from 1 June 2004 to 31 May 2008 and consists of 10 nodes and over 100 researchers.

Jump to:  Partners in the Network | Network Objectives | ETSF | Resources | Publications

Partners in the Network

  1. University of York (Team Leader: Prof. Rex Godby, Department of Physics)
  2. Fritz-Haber-Institut, Berlin (Team Leaders: Prof. Matthias Scheffler, Dr. Arno Schindlmayr and Dr. Patrick Rinke, Theory Department)
  3. Freie Universität, Berlin (Team Leader: Prof. Hardy Gross, Department of Physics)
  4. Friedrich-Schiller-Universität, Jena (Team Leader: Prof. Friedhelm Bechstedt and Dr. Jürgen Furthmüller, Institut für Festkörpertheorie und Theoretische Optik)
  5. Université Catholique de Louvain (Team Leader: Prof. Xavier Gonze, Unité de Physico-Chimie et de Physique des Matériaux)
  6. Lunds Universitet (Team Leaders: Prof. Carl-Olof Almbladh and Prof. Ulf von Barth, Department of Solid-State Theory)
  7. Universitá degli Studi di Milano (Team Leader: Prof. Giovanni Onida, Department of Physics)
  8. Laboratoire des Solides Irradiés*(Paris) (Team Leader: Dr. Lucia Reining)
  9. Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche - Istituto Nazionale per la Fisica della Materia (Rome) (Team Leader: Prof. Rodolfo Del Sole, Department of Physics, Universita´ degli Studi di Roma “Tor Vergata”)
  10. Universidad del País Vasco / Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (San Sebastián) (Team Leaders: Prof. Pedro Echenique and Prof. Angel Rubio, Facultad de Quimicas and Donostia International Physics Center)
*The Laboratoire des Solides Irradiés is a joint research laboratory of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique and Ecole Polytechnique.

Associate Members

Associate Membership allows former Ph.D. students and post-doctorial researchers who are no longer employed by a node, but who continue to contribute significantly to Nanoquanta's work, to retain a formal affiliation with the Network.

Network Officers

Work Teams

Nanoquanta is organised into eight Work Teams, which lead all of the scientific and integrating activities.

Network Objectives

The Nanoquanta Network of Excellence integrates and develops the research capabilities of ten European teams in the field of the fundamental science of nanoscale systems and advanced materials, exploiting the powerful combination of quantum-mechanical theory and computer simulation to make contact with nanoscience experimental studies and also directly with technologically relevant electronic, dynamic and optical processes.

Through scientific publications, worshops and conferences, training, and contact with experimental and applied research groups in European universities, research institutions and other organisations, Nanoquanta's ongoing work is disseminated widely.

The Network is intended to evolve into a European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility (ETSF), with strong links with a wide range of research groups and available for collaboration with users from across science and industry in projects concerned with nanoscale systems and advanced materials.

European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility

A Press Release introducing the European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility is available in English and Italian.

The ETSF website, which includes a comprehensive FAQ, is here.


Nanoquanta has developed specifications for common file formats in connection with the implementation of the European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility; these are available from the Specifications page on the ETSF website.


Years One & Two (June 2004 - May 2006) publications.

For further information about the Network in general or to send comments on these web pages, please contact Tony Patman, the Network Administrator, or Rex Godby, the Network Coordinator.